Sleeper (comics)

For the Marvel Comics character, see Sleeper (Marvel Comics).


Sleeper, Volume 1 #1

Publication information

Wildstorm (imprint of DC Comics


Two limited series, one-shot

Crime, spy, superhero, neo-noir

Publication date
March 2003 – March 2004
April 2004
June 2004 – May 2005

Number of issues
Sleeper #1-12
Coup D’Etat: Sleeper
Sleeper: Season Two #1-12

Main character(s)
Holden Carver
John Lynch
Miss Misery

Creative team

Ed Brubaker

Sean Phillips (main series)
Jim Lee (Coup D’Etat: Sleeper)

Tony Avina
Randy Mayor
Alex Sinclair
Carrie Strachan
James Sinclair

Collected editions

Out in the Cold
ISBN 1-4012-0115-6

All False Moves
ISBN 1401202888

A Crooked Line
ISBN 1401206182

The Long Way Home
ISBN 1401206271

Sleeper: Season One
ISBN 1401223605

Sleeper Season Two
ISBN 1401224938

Sleeper was a comic book series written by Ed Brubaker with art by Sean Phillips, published by DC Comics under their Wildstorm imprint. The series consisted of two twelve-issue limited series and the events of the first “season” served as a catalyst for the Coup D’Etat line-wide crossover.
Sleeper was set in the Wildstorm Universe and concerned the travails of Holden Carver, a covert operative who has been placed undercover in a villainous organisation led by TAO, a WildC.A.T.s villain from Alan Moore’s run. It was a spin-off of Point Blank, a mini-series about Grifter from Wildcats and John Lynch from Gen¹³ that was also written by Ed Brubaker.


1 Plot
2 Collected editions
3 Film
4 Notes
5 References

Holden Carver, also known as The Conductor (although he prefers going by his real name), is placed undercover in Tao’s criminal organization by John Lynch, the director of International Operations after being fused with an alien artifact that makes him impervious to pain, gives him a powerful healing factor, and allows him to store pain he receives and pass it on to others through skin contact. Holden hates these abilities and constantly wishes to be rid of them. Lynch falls into a coma after being shot by Grifter, leaving Holden with no link to the outside world.
He quickly rises through the ranks of Tao’s syndicate and becomes one of his lieutenants, called “Prodigals”. He falls in love with another Prodigal named Miss Misery and befriends Genocide Jones, a super-strong, bullet-proof member of Tao’s organization. The series also foc